Home » About Us

About Us

Our Mandate

Founded in 1979, The New Canadians Centre Peterborough (NCC) is a non-profit charitable organization dedicated to supporting immigrants, refugees and other newcomers in the Peterborough and Northumberland regions.

Our Vision

A vibrant and inclusive community where people who are new to Canada thrive and are valued.

Our Mission

We empower people who are new to Canada, so they can be recognized as equal and valued members of Canadian society, and we provide leadership to cultivate their meaningful economic, social, and cultural inclusion in our community.

Our Values

Respect, Equity and Inclusion, Collaboration, Dedication, Celebration

Our Goals

  • To ease and promote the adjustment of immigrants and refugees to Canadian Culture
  • To provide trained staff and appropriate facilities
  • To advocate on behalf of new Canadians and to provide information and referrals
  • To continually review and adjust our services to address the needs of new Canadians
  • To increase the active participation of new Canadians in determining the direction of the agency
  • To promote cross-cultural understanding and acceptance through education and awareness projects
  • To promote fundraising projects to improve the quality of community services for new Canadians

Our Commitment to Anti-Racism

At the New Canadians Centre, we commit to making the pursuit of equity and inclusion our way of life.

We commit to empowering the newcomers and refugees we serve, by:

  • Convening a newcomer and refugee-led advisory group to advise on programs and services
  • Engaging newcomers and refugees in training to respond to racism and discrimination
  • Helping newcomers and refugees to navigate opportunities to be leaders in the community.

Read more on our commitment to anti-racism in this statement.

Land Acknowledgement

We respectfully acknowledge that we are located on the Treaty 20 Michi Saagiig territory and in the traditional territory of the Michi Saagiig and Chippewa Nations, collectively known as the Williams Treaties First Nations, which include: Curve Lake, Hiawatha, Alderville, Scugog Island, Rama, Beausoleil, and Georgina Island First Nations.

We respectfully acknowledge that the Williams Treaties First Nations are the stewards and caretakers of these lands and waters in perpetuity and that they continue to maintain this responsibility to ensure their health and integrity for generations to come.
We are all Treaty people.